So I'm picking up a healthy salad for dinner at Whole Foods in Short Pump last night when I see this on the salad bar:
I mean, I know that tomatoes are technically a fruit, but come on man! What is a Vegan tomato? So I did some research, and you know what? I couldn't find anything, not at Rutgers Unviversity's farming website which detailed every variety known to man...not even on the whole world wide googles!!!!
I wanted to give them the benifit of the doubt. Like, maybe Vegan tomatoes are special kind of tomatoes that are grown in a special way to protect them from every coming into contact with meet...or Beefsteak tomatoes. But then it hit me. Some Vegans may actually be this dumb. As in, they've seen Beefsteak tomatoes before in the produce section, and they somehow don't trust that there isn't some sneaky meat in the other kinds of tomatoes. As a result, some Vegans may actually need to be reassured....so they don't even eat vine tomatoes, or Georgia Sweet, or Cherry Tomatoes or any of the other 180 or so varieties of tomatoes. So there, in the salad bar at the Whole Foods Store, is the reassuring little devil---the Vegan tomato.
Or, Whole Foods could be having some fun at Vegan's expense? I'll leave it to you to decide.